So, Why Start A Politics Blog?

I’ve always been interested in politics, enjoying election nights with the bright colours and swing-o-meters before I was even a teenager or understood any of the issues at play.

However as I grew up, I became increasingly disenchanted with the whole sorry process.  Unable to relate to the major parties and unable to see how my vote would make a difference, I never really engaged, didn’t vote until I was 28 and very nearly bought into the mindset that voting is actually tacitly approving of the system and empowering the government to act on your behalf, even if you voted against them.

However, over the last six or seven years I’ve gradually become more and more compelled to get involved, firstly to vote, then to debate with friends and workmates and finally to actively campaign and even join a party – something I never thought I would do.

It’s a shame that it has been an increase in the evident brokenness of our system that has inspired me to become more active but on the flip side, the explosion of engagement brought about by the Scottish independence referendum has given me hope that change is indeed possible.

The system is broken, our government does not reflect the will of the people or act in their interests and we need radical change to create a fairer, more functional country.  This blog is a small part of my efforts to be a part of that change.

Leave a Reply

